[Article] Dre Skull in Kingston

Veröffentlicht: 12 Juni, 2012 in 4. Miscellaneous
Schlagwörter:, , , , ,

One of my favorite producers, Dre Skull, wrote an nice article for Vice Mag about his time in Kingston and the recordings he’s done with several big artists.

The first night in Kingston I went to link with Popcaan at producer Anju Blaxxx’s own UIM Studios. As I waited for Popcaan to arrive, I talked with Anju Blaxxx and his business partner Wayne Lexxx about the Jamaican music business. They were giving me advice on working dancehall releases within Kingston, and I was giving them advice on building up their releases internationally. I stayed at the studio until about 2 AM, but Popcaan never showed up, so I went back to my hotel and worked for a few more hours.

The next morning I got a call at 8 AM saying Popcaan was up and ready to work. It was about noon by the time we linked up at Anju Blaxxx’s studio. I played him the first riddim, „Loudspeaker Riddim,“ and he was ready to go and jumped in the vocal booth straightaway.

Read the whole article via Vice Mag.

Schreibe einen Kommentar

