[Interview] Andrew „Grumps“ Thomas, Penthouse Records Studio Engineer

Veröffentlicht: 26 Januar, 2012 in 4. Miscellaneous
Schlagwörter:, , , ,

Here’s a nice Interview with one of the most talented Penthouse Records Studio Engineers from the 90’s, and nowadays Beenie Man’s official Live Soundengineer, Andrew Thomas, via Penthouse Records.free.fr

How did you learn the mixing process ?
Hanging around studios was my teaching mainly and I also was an apprentice learning from the elder engineers. In Mo’Bay I experienced mixing on a 8 tracks recording with Ed Robinson at Tiff Tam Recording Studio, that was in the early 90’s. Barry O’Hare and Stephen Stewart from Grove Recording Studio, Ocho Rios, were around showing me more about the technique of engineering. From there Barry kind of took me as his apprentice, nowadays he is a very good friend of mine. Spending many years working at Grove Studio, I had a wonderful time working with some of the greatest artists and musicians in Jamaica and overseas. I’ve worked on songs of Shaggy Wonder, Garnet Silk, Jigsy King and the Roof biggest hit „A Who Seh Me Dun / Wait De Man“ by Cutty Ranks. So much hits ! In those days Penthouse was running the business so I knew I had to move to town to get the right experience.

Read the whole Interview over at Penthouse Records.free.fr, along with nuff more.

Schreibe einen Kommentar

