Dre Skull on the work with Vybz Kartel

Veröffentlicht: 18 März, 2011 in 4. Miscellaneous
Schlagwörter:, , , , , ,

Dre Skull has been interviewed by the Soundclash Blog, and talked bout working with Kartel and what jamaican artists and foreign producers and vice versa could learn from each other.

How did you begin collaborations with Jamaican artists? Were you interested in particular vocalists/particular sound?

My first project was the single “Gone Too Far” with Sizzla, and I reached out via the internet. In terms of my interest, I’ve been a fan of Jamaican music for a long time, so it was a longstanding dream to be working with Jamaican artists. The first track I did with Vybz Kartel, “Yuh Love,” was a similar thing (over the internet). But lately, I’ve been coming to down to Kingston quite a bit to get into the studio with people directly and that’s definitely my preferred way of working when it’s possible. In terms of whom I’ve worked with, I’ve basically chosen people I was interested in for particular projects I had in mind. There are other artists I’ve wanted to voice whose label has offered very bad contractual terms so it wasn’t possible to get it done. But overall, I feel very good about who I’ve worked with, it’s been amazing and I expect to keep doing more projects.

Read the whole Interview over at Soundclash.

Can’t wait for the Dre Skull/Kartel Collabo Album!!

Schreibe einen Kommentar

